TXGenWeb Project
Titus County, Texas


Last Updated:

Post Offices
Site Map

(Pop. 167)

Eight miles east of Mount Pleasant.  Named for Andrew Barney Cook, first merchant, who came to Texas in 1851 from Macon, Georgia.

Office established under name of Clay Hill.

Postmaster Appointed Postmaster Appointed
David L. Hall Jun. 15, 1870 Andrew B. Cook Feb. 21, 1877

Name of office changed to Cookville, June 21, 1880.

Postmaster Appointed Postmaster Appointed
Andrew B. Cook Jun. 21, 1880 Hiram H. Wooten Mar. 15, 1919
William J. Johnson Dec. 13, 1880 Warren A. Keith (A) Sep. 14, 1921
Jechonie S. Southerland Mar. 7, 1882 William H. Johnson Jun. 26, 1922
Henry S. Taylor Aug. 5, 1890 Verne Adams Jan. 28, 1926
Charles L. Gregory Aug. 19, 1893 Faine H. Woffard (A) Apr. 26, 1930
David Richard Reynolds Nov. 5, 1896 Warren O. Keith Dec. 22, 1930
John A. Keith Jul. 26, 1901 Melvin E. Johnson (A) Nov. 1, 1946
Warren A. Keith Mar. 1, 1905 Melvin E. Johnson Oct. 1, 1947
Henry S. Taylor Nov. 28, 1914

[ Return to the Post Office County Page ] [ Return to the Main Titus County Page ]

Created and Maintained for the TXGenWeb Project by

Christina Palmer

Web Space Provided By:
Hidden Ancestors
Copyright 2007-Present, Christina Palmer
All Rights Reserved. Limited use rights may be granted by written or electronic permission.